Describing idioms and about dreaming too big

Welcome to my reborn blog!

Dawn in Helsinki

Once I first came up with this blog two years ago, I wanted the name to represent the wonders of the surrounding world that I wanted to paint visible with photos and show to the rest of the world.  When I came back to my forgotten and half-empty photo blog this year, I felt like the name was still very useful, but I had to do something else than a plain photo blog.

Thinking about it now, I’m actually not sure if the name of this blog is as informative in it’s English form as it is in my native language, Finnish. Like I’ve learned on the way, not every Finnish phrase or idiom works in English or other languages. Not to mention the French ones like mon petit chou… In Finnish voi pikku kaalini (’my little cabbage’)  would certainly sound a bit humiliating, and saying that on a date in Finland, might easily end the date there.

As a Finn I see my fellow Finnish compatriots use Finnish proverbs fluently in their English texts without knowing (or caring) that the expression isn’t an international one. I’m not an exception here, just telling we do it a lot. Well in case skylinepainter isn’t a international expression, I want to explain it just a little, even though it’s quite informative one.

In Finnish, taivaanrannanmaalari – litterally translated as skylinepainter – means a person, who is constantly dreaming and of course reaching out for unpossible things.  As a kid I also understood the skyline painter as a unemployeed bum living on the park bench but still enjoying his life doing nothing but dreaming. Secretly, I wanted to become one. Well obviously the official explantion is a little more appreciating, but one could still feel a little offended if called so in real life. Still it seems to be the story of my life.

Maybe hundreds of times my father has told me to calm down with my plans and in a very Finnish way recommended me no to dream away too much. Life is dull and supposed to be so too! 😉 You know, even though the Finnish mentality is much more complex than the stereotypes describe, undoubtedly there is something true in them, and one of them is certainly not to rejoice or show off too much, or it will eventually revenge itself.  So, according to my father I should stop planning impossibilities and concentrate on studies, work, home and so on… Instead of constant travel dreams for example. It wasn’t only from my father I’ve heard this suggestion to keep it more simple and not to plan too much. I’ve also heard it from my companions in life, who obviously have more sence for what my economical situation really enables and have (succesfully) been trying to keep me away from economical disaster. It may have been good to calm it down a little, but never stop complitely.

When I look back, there hasn’t been too many dreams that I couldn’t have made to reality. Of course there are longterm dreams, – like having my own lakeside house in the Finnish countryside near the capital area (haha) or a seaside summerhouse somewhere in warm climate – that even I don’t expect to come true too soon, not even in few years time.

Dreaming is a way of making life and also it’s grey ordinary life more enjoyable, more light. That is hedonism, for Gods sake!

Corny or not, I want to live for my dreams, make some irrational and unpossible plans and do my best to make them come true! Who knows, maybe they’re not so impossible!

After all, what is impossible? Oh yes, world peace.

Vastaa

Täytä tietosi alle tai klikkaa kuvaketta kirjautuaksesi sisään:

WordPress.com-logo

Olet kommentoimassa WordPress.com -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Twitter-kuva

Olet kommentoimassa Twitter -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Facebook-kuva

Olet kommentoimassa Facebook -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Google+ photo

Olet kommentoimassa Google+ -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Muodostetaan yhteyttä palveluun %s