Addiction to travelling, winter fatigue and other climate-ruiner’s excuses

I love traveling! Yes, I’m a selfish little climate ruiner. I’m very aware of the bad sides of my little addiction  but once I started my parent independent travelling as a teenager, I got hooked, and I just can’t get enough of it. Think that the story is very familiar to many.

Since I’m aware of my bad habit’s harmful co-sides, I’m of course trying my best to make my traveling more ecological, in the realistic phrames formed by my economical situation as a young independent person with no savings and of course, lack of time. So yes, it’s clearly not enough.

When I’m posting about my travels, it’s obvious they’re made with limited budget and sadly not as ecologically sustainable sort as they could be, and as I wanted them to be. Ecological travelling is something I want to learn more about. When I travelled to Rio, I didn’t take a cargoship across the ocean (how cool would THAT be?!) but instead took the 11-12 hour flight with a stop-over in London. Stop-overs are the worst kind of polluters in airtraffic. But I was happy to get there, it was my first change to go to  South America, and I was sure to take it once I could!

IMG_5904As I’m coplaining about my reality as a budget traveller, I’m well aware of the fact that I am no poor at all in the world scale. I’m only a lucky dweller of a Nordic welfare country (even though it’s a wrecking one) with my first world problems. I’m very thankful I have this change to travel this much as I do and happily showing off with this lifestyle blog. 😉

As a funny coinsidence with these thoughts of mine, just today The Telegraph reveiled that according to a recent survey by Timetric, Finland is the most travelled country in the world with an average Finn making 7.5 trips a year, including trips at home and abroad. Finland was followed by The United States domestic travel rates and our Scandinavian neighbours, Sweden, Denmark and Norway. According to The Telegraph, people in Scandinavia travel alot, because we afford it and because of our relatively expensive costs of living here, travelling abroad means we get more value of our money there. That is true, I suppose.

Other reason is that in these Nordic countries  many families own a summer house or a cabin by a lake/ the sea, where they spend their holidays. That is why our domestic travel rates are high aswell. also, one reason, not mentioned in the article, is for sure the climate. Our winter is long, dark and cold, and many of us are suffering from a ’winter-fatigue’ and in serious need of a little light treatment already when the year turns to November.

Hopefully we travelling Finns are also after some culture. Warmth and culture, what would be better combination? So to say, even Paris doesn’t feel like it should in January, in zero degrees and grey fog all around. Or what do you think?

Vastaa

Täytä tietosi alle tai klikkaa kuvaketta kirjautuaksesi sisään:

WordPress.com-logo

Olet kommentoimassa WordPress.com -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Twitter-kuva

Olet kommentoimassa Twitter -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Facebook-kuva

Olet kommentoimassa Facebook -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Google+ photo

Olet kommentoimassa Google+ -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Muodostetaan yhteyttä palveluun %s